97 Guests, 4 Users

Author Topic: North Branch Flathead Quest 2018  (Read 1977 times)  Share 

Offline FM

• Captain of Da' Bait Team
  • Administrator
  • Life is Good on the Susky
North Branch Flathead Quest 2018
« on: August 30, 2018, 02:08:36 PM »
The North Branch Flathead Quest began a new chapter last night. As some of you know I have been targeting the rare NB flathead for 4 years now. Year one produced zero flatheads but some big channel cats, Year two, resulted in more big channels and finally in August a 30 inch flathead. Year three yielded the big channels and again in August one flathead this one was 24 inches. So this year I fished away catching some really nice channel cats, hoping that August would once again cough up at least one flathead as reward for my preservance. Sunday night I located some big old channel cats and knowing that the flatheads will tolerate them pinned my hopes on hitting one or two flatties in the same area. As it turned out I got three flatheads crushing my previous seasons and setting a new one year and one day total at the same time. I'm laughing at myself because I know that this is a paltry showing when compared to the catches guys get in the lower regions of the river but up here on the NB it is a revelation. What is it about August??? A couple thoughts come to mind. The spawn is well over, the water levels are low usually concentrating the prey and predators. They may start collecting in wintering holes early, or may be its none of these and something else. The ones I got were smaller than the one in past seasons. 17, 21.5, and 23.5 inches. I weighed the biggest for science and it was just a hair shy of 10 lbs, They are heavier inch for inch than channel cats. I'm not done I'm sticking on them for september and going after a big one for a pic. That 30 incher I caught two years ago might be a 40 incher now!
FM
PS all on live gills.

Susquehanna River Fishing Forum

North Branch Flathead Quest 2018