122 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: First time ever on the boat in the river.  (Read 5622 times)  Share 

Offline Christopher2x2

• River Rat
First time ever on the boat in the river.
« on: April 25, 2014, 12:06:03 PM »
I'm taking my boat out for the first time tomorrow.  14ft jon boat with a small gas motor,  6hp. Any suggestions would greatly be appreciated.  I'm considering launching from Appletree or Falls... I'm a Noob from the boater point of view, I'd rather look like an idiot and ask dumb questions here than end up in the paper with everybody trying to find me.

Thanks in advance...

Susquehanna River Fishing Forum

First time ever on the boat in the river.
« on: April 25, 2014, 12:06:03 PM »

Offline Kingfisher

Re: First time ever on the boat in the river.
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2014, 01:12:24 PM »
The river is currently around 5.5' according to the w-B gauge.  If your launching from the AT launch, I would head upstream, not down.  It shallows up just below the launch with a lot of boulders you can usually see from 92 on the way to the launch.  You MIGHT be fine at the current river level, but I wouldn't risk it without a jet.  Same for Falls launch...head upstream, not down.  Below the falls launch is a giant boulder field in the middle of the river where I'm sure there are 100's of props strewn about.  That area isn't as much of a danger until the river drops a few more feet though.  I got my trollin motor pinned on one of those boulders there and it was a B_tch to get it off.  Good luck and be safe.
"Ya can't get em wishin, ya gotta go fishin!"

Offline FM

• Captain of Da' Bait Team
  • Administrator
  • Life is Good on the Susky
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2014, 02:21:50 PM »